Document Type

Amicus Brief

Publication Date


Case Name

Biden v. Nebraska


Amici curiae Dean Erwin Chemerinsky and Professors William Araiza, Matthew Bruckner, Pamela Foohey, Jonathan Glater, Luke Herrine, Dalié Jiménez, Jeffrey Lubbers, Chrystin Ondersma, Peter Shane, and Peter Strauss are professors of law at universities throughout the United States, with expertise in student financial assistance programs under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and administrative and constitutional law. Amici file this brief in support of Applicants because this case presents important questions within amici’s professional expertise, namely, the scope of the Department of Education’s authority to provide relief to borrowers and the development of this Court’s statutory interpretation methodology, particularly in the context of its precedent concerning the major questions doctrine.

Included in

Law Commons