Document Type

Blog Post

Publication Date


Graduation Year



In April 2021, twelve of Europe’s largest soccer clubs announced their intention to form the European Soccer League (ESL). The league would feature the most prestigious teams from three European domestic leagues, including Real Madrid, AC Milan, and Manchester United. Whereas domestic and the only current European-wide competitions relegate teams for poor sport performance, the ESL would allow its founding teams permanent access to the league and its revenues.

This post was originally published on the Cardozo International & Comparative Law Review website on November 15, 2021. The original post can be accessed via the Archived Link button above.

Included in

Law Commons